International Conference "Business and Human Rights Governance Challenges in Times of Complexity and Crisis?"

Nuremberg, 24- 26 September 2023

Speakers and moderators

Speakers

Michael Addo is Professor of Law and Director of the London Law Programme of the University of Notre Dame. He was a Member of the United Nations Working Group on Business and Human Rights.

Dorothée Baumann-Pauly is the Director of the Geneva Center for Business and Human Rights at the University of Geneva and Research Director at the NYU Stern Center for Business and Human Rights.

Malcolm Bidali is a Kenyan human rights activist defending migrant workers' rights and winner of the 2023 International Nuremberg Human Rights.

Heiner Bielefeldt is Professor of Human Rights and Human Rights Policy at FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg. He was also the UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion or Belief.

Karin Buhmann is Professor in Business and Human Rights at Copenhagen Business School and Director of the Centre for Law, Sustainability & Justice at the University of Southern Denmark.

Humberto Cantú Rivera is Professor at the School of Law and Social Sciences of the University of Monterrey (Mexico) and Director of its Human Rights and Business Institute.

Andrew Clapham is Professor of International Law at the Graduate Institute and was the first Director of the Geneva Academy of International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights.

Cathryn Costello is Professor of Global Refugee and Migration Law at the Sutherland School of Law, University College Dublin (Ireland) and Visiting Professor at the Hertie School, Berlin.

Shane Darcy is Professor of Law and Deputy Director of the Irish Centre for Human Rights in the School of Law at the University of Galway (Ireland).

Surya Deva is Professor of Law and Director of the Centre for Environmental Law at Macquarie University in Sydney (Australia). He is also the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Right to Development.

Chiara Macchi is Assistant Professor of Law and Coordinator of Education at Wageningen University & Research – Law Group (Netherlands).

Justine Nolan is the Director of the Australian Human Rights Institute and a Professor in the Faculty of Law and Justice at the University of New South Wales in Sydney (Australia).

Danielle Anne Pamplona is Professor at the Law School and coordinates the Human Rights Clinic at Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Paraná (Brazil).

Anita Ramasastry is Henry M. Jackson Endowed Professor of Law at the University of Washington (USA) and was a member of the United Nations Working Group on Business and Human Rights.

Miriam Saage-Maaß is Legal Director at the European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights (ECCHR) in Berlin where she built up the Business and Human Rights Programme.

Judith Schönsteiner is Professor at the School of Law of Universidad Diego Portales in Santiago de Chile.

Elke Schüßler is Professor of Business Administration, in particular Entrepreneurship with a focus on organizational and social change at Leuphana University Lüneburg.

Stefan Seidel is Senior Head of Corporate Sustainability of PUMA SE, Herzogenaurach (Germany).

Vladislava Stoyanova an Associate Professor of Public International Law at the Faculty of Law, Lund University (Sweden) and holds the Wallenberg Academy Fellowship there.

Olena Uvarova is Associate Professor and leads the International Lab on Business and Human Rights at Yaroslav Mudryi National Law University (Kharkiv, Ukraine).

Harry Van Buren III holds the Z. Lupton Patten Endowed Chair of Business Ethics at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga (USA).

Mark Wielga is Director of NomoGaia, a non-profit research organization on human rights due diligence based in Denver (USA).

Moderators

Markus Beckmann is Professor of Corporate Sustainability Management at FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Viviane Dittrich is Deputy Director of the International Nuremberg Principles Academy.

Anuscheh Farahat is Professor of Public Law, Migration Law and Human Rights Law at FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg and Deputy Spokesperson of the Centre for Human Rights Erlangen-Nürnberg (CHREN).

Katrin Kinzelbach is Professor of International Politics of Human Rights at FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Markus Krajewski is Professor of Public International Law at FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg and Spokesperson of the Centre for Human Rights Erlangen-Nürnberg (CHREN).

Christoph Safferling is Professor of Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure and International Criminal Law at FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg and Director of the International Nuremberg Principles Academy.

Almut Schilling-Vacaflor is a Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Osnabrück and Professor-Elect of the School of Business, Economics and Society of FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg.